EVO 2017: Fighting Games Making A Comeback!

Last weekend, the biggest fighting game tournament happened. With games like Guilty Gear, Blazblue, Street Fighter, Tekken, and Smash Bros Melee and 4 there was a lot to be excited about those days. Well on Sunday we got all the reveals and a majority of them did extremely well of getting people excited for what is coming up. I am simply gotta go through them in any order I want to, probably save my favorites for last.

Street Fighter V: Abigail

Abigail-Street-Fighter-V

Reveal Trailer

I will get the hated one out-of-the-way first. To be honest, I like Abigail. For a large character, he does not have a focus on command throws which Street Fighter is quite known for with large fighters. I will admit, his size and overall look is odd. Hell him acting like a child just keeps adding onto his odd image. Personally, it started to rub off me though. For a Final Fight character I am not surprised that this guy is not sane. Some people wanted him to be a serious gang member, but I would find that boring in my opinion. Street Fighter has been good with making some weird characters, so Abigail seems to fit in well with the franchise. I think his play style also fits with what Capcom has been doing with Season 2 of SFV. Abigail looks like he can have a good combo game which again, most large characters are not known for this. I love seeing him bounce people off the wall into many other options he has, his V-Skills can do some great counters into combos as well. Overall, I think people just do not like this character because of what else we got. I think SFV will still be fine and Abigail will get his time to shine when he is released which is quite soon so there is that.

Fighting Layer EX

DE4dItrVwAQd9nd

Trailer

ARIKA is coming back with a new fighting game which was a surprise from last year. This time people got to play some of this new project and the company got to reveal more for the game. Now for those confused, ARIKA made a game series called Street Fighter EX which was a spin-off series that put Street Fighter in a more 3D fighting game. The series started out strong, but later installments got it a bit tough for the console versions. The series still had love from the fans and for the longest time so many characters just faded away. Now many of the exclusive characters from the EX series are coming back in a new game. Characters like Kairi, Shirase, Garuda, Darun Mister, and most importantly Skullomania are back into the scene! Skullomania is one of my favorite Street Fighter characters in general, so seeing him back got me so excited. I do not know much about this game, but it seems to be a continuation of the EX series in terms of style, but who knows what surprises this game can have.

Jedah and Gamora in Marvel VS Capcom Infinite

marvel_vs_capcom_infinite_jedah_trailer_capture_1

Game Footage

Capcom decided to show more off for the upcoming crossover game, since this could be Marvel VS Capcom 3’s last time at EVO. Many already know what the roster of the game will be since a leak came out and it is accurate right now, the only thing it did not have was Zero, but everything so far is spot on. They first shown off Gamora who was shown in the story mode trailer and now seeing her fighting really makes me impressed. I love her style of swords and guns. Her animations look well as she jumps off walls with good projectiles and she can jump right in with close range combat too. Jedah then looks like the best character in terms of animations. There is constant animation on the character as the blood flowing out of his body more looks like purple goo, but oh well at least that looks awesome. I love seeing that Jedah is keeping his air movement and zoning properties to the game. The best part about the reveal is that we got it through expert players playing the game. It made the reveal more honest than just seeing a trailer. Also with veterans to Marvel VS Capcom playing and saying good things about the game, makes me feel more conifdent to pick up the title.

Trunks in Dragonball Fighterz

future-trunks-dragon-ball-fighterz

Reveal Trailer

What used to be my most anticipated fighting game title got a nice reveal with Trunks. The Trunks we are getting would be Future Trunks which is the first time we saw this character in Dragon Ball Z. So far Trunks seems to be the character I want to play as the most. The mixture of projectiles and sword combos really interest me. Trunks has some great zoning options and mix that with the awesome visuals of the game we got ourselves an exciting character. Then for one of his super moves, it looks like it could be a command grab super since I see Trunks throwing a character up into the air before doing the big attack. Either way, the best Trunks is in the game and I cannot wait for who else will be included.

Geese Howard Invades Tekken 7

geese

Best Trailer of EVO

Tekken 7 is slated for some guest characters to increase the life of the game. The first character was Akuma from Street Fighter and now Geese Howard from Fatal Fury and King of Fighters is going to take his shot at Heihachi. I have to say what a perfect character selection. I was expecting a Guilty Gear character because Harada has visited Arc Systems Works lately, so I will expecting that later on. Either way Geese fits so well into Tekken. First off, he is a terrible father just like Heihachi so they got that in common. Then just like Akuma, Geese is going to have his trademark moves and even special abilities from King of Fighters. Geese got his projectiles, counters (predictable!), and even the Max Mode functions as we can see Geese glow gold in the trailer. I am also going to guess with that then, he will have a special meter of some kind just like Akuma and Elize. If Tekken got more amazing characters like Geese coming, Tekken 7 is going to live for a long time.

Blazblue Central Fiction Adds Jubei

BlazBlue-Centralfiction-Jubei-555x312

Reveal Trailer

Jubei has been a character that was asked to be in the roster by so many fans. First his daughter got in, then his wife, and now he can finally join the roster! Jubei has been a character in the story mode since the first game and he was never a push over, being known as one of the legendary six heroes. Jubei seems to be a big follow-up character with good movements all around. He even has a counter and a projectile by the looks of it. Jubei even has a move where he places marks in the air which can have him do attacks through them and maybe for movement options as well like Bang. So I imagine that he will have Tao’s combo possibility which means his attacks will not be too strong, but mix that with options that are similar to Hakumen and even Bang. I cannot wait to play as Jubei and he is slated for the Summer of this year, so again another close one.

Blazblue Cross Tag Battle

blazblue-cross-battle-tag-whatever

This is REAL!

So not is only Arc System Works doing a 3v3 fighting game like Marvel VS Capcom 2 and 3, but they are also making a crossover fighter with a tag system too. I love this company so having a crossover with their franchises is a godlike idea for me. Too bad they did not add Guilty Gear characters, I guess they are not making new sprites for this game which could make it easier to have more characters. Yet they are adding RWBY to this roster, I am still expecting to have at least Sol Badguy as a guest character for this game. Still the possibilities of having Blazblue, Persona, and Under Night In-Birth characters is going to be amazing. I do hope for a big roster that can add many characters to balance each of the three franchises. I bet RWBY will have their four main characters and I am not a fan of that series, but seeing how this product is growing is nice to see. Overall I am overly excited for this product because I love Arc System Works and them going for a crossover fighter with big names and a mixture of smaller names is great. The big products like Blazblue and Persona will get it to sell and hopefully the smaller names will get more love through it.

So those are my thoughts about what we got at EVO this year. I am sad that there was no Smash news on top of everything because why not reveal something for that. I guess at this point the next Smash game will be brand new and not a port of Smash 4 for the Switch. Which makes sense for Sakurai since he usually makes a product unique for one system. Either way there is tons of excitement coming up for me as a fighting game fan and I hope more people will be getting into these games. I know Dragon Ball and Tekken will be getting love, but I do hope the new Blazblue project gets popular, along with the new EX game. Then hopefully Capcom can save Street Fighter V for the fans and Marvel VS Capcom Infinite does well since it is sweating time for Capcom right now. There are some new kings in the business.

Leave a Reply

